The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Yoga is the oldest science with all its principles continuing to be entirely relevant today. The eight limb approach was developed by Patanjali more than two centuries ago.

Yama - ethical restraints
Niyama - observances
Asana - posture
Pranayama - extension of the life force energy
Pratyahara - withdrawal of the senses
Dharana - concentration
Dhyana - meditation
Samadhi - bliss, enlightenment

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player